Through My Eyes

Some people say I talk too much, that I always have a story to tell. I don't know what's round the corner so my blog is about life through my eyes and making every day count.

My Bucket List

I started writing a bucket list last around 2 years ago, not because I thought I was going to get cancer but more because I was 28 at the time bad wanted to do a few things before I reached 30! Then this year I got diagnosed with Breast Cancer and the bucket list got put on hold! Now that the end of 2013 is not far away and my cancer battle is nearing an end I want to revisit the bucket list and see if any of them are achievable! Drive a race car was on the list and I have done that even if it is just a mini in a field so that’s one ticked off!
Some of them below may seem a bit strange but it’s funny the things you realise you want to do when you sit and write a list!

1) Learn to weld
2) Meet Valentino Rossi
3) Go to the Italian Moto GP
4) learn to pole dance (fitness reasons only)
5) Swim with dolphins but in the sea not in a swimming pool!
6) run a full marathon
7) Climb Ben Nevis
8) Cook a Christmas dinner (successfully)
8) learn circus skills, the trapeze in particular!
9) be a passenger in a RAF fighter jet
10) visit Australia and go diving!

The above are just a few of my goals when in actual fact there are many more things I want to do in my life.

One point I want to make is that me making a bucket list is in no way any sort of negative message suggesting I think I am going to die! That’s not the case at all. The term “bucket list” does come from the term kick the bucket which is a phrase linked to dying but that’s not why I have a bucket list.
The reason for me is more a case of I don’t feel that young anymore and it’s suddenly dawning on me that next year I will turn 30 having not done very many of the things I want to do! I would like to think I am 70 years away from the end of my life but you just never know so I feel it’s time to start ticking some things off my list!!
I am aware some are more realistic than others, to be honest I have more chance of flying a fighter jet than I do cooking a decent and edible Christmas dinner!!
Either way if I can just get a few ticked off that would be fantastic.
I also want to raise a lot more month fur charity and volunteer more for charitable causes. I didn’t write it on the list above as running a marathon and climbing a mountain would be for charity.
I do think there should be a law that for 1 day every year people have to give up their time to help people less fortunate than themselves, if everyone did that then the world would be a much better place.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My Bucket List

  1. I agree totally about helping people every year. I need to create my own bucket list.

    Mr.MakingUsmile

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Bucket List Year | Running Through Life

Leave a Reply

